HomeBusiness
Sign in

Research · Local support

Crisis and Resilience Fund 2026: How councils are rolling out England's new household safety net

SupportFund analysed 45 local authority Crisis and Resilience Fund schemes to compare how councils are delivering crisis payments, housing support and financial-resilience services in 2026.

45 councils analysedPublished 12 August 2026SupportFund analysis of official council information

Executive summary

This analysis is based on 45 local authority schemes verified or partially verified by SupportFund as of 12 August 2026. It is not yet a complete census of all English councils.

  • 45 councils analysed, as of 12 August 2026.
  • 69% (31 councils) have scheme status Open, as of 12 August 2026.
  • 22% (10 councils) have scheme status Partially open, as of 12 August 2026.
  • 4 councils are Opening soon or have information published only, as of 12 August 2026.
  • 31 records are Verified and 14 are Partial, as of 12 August 2026.
Look up your council

supportfund-crf-council-rollout-analysis-2026-08-12.csv · 45 rows · frozen at 12 August 2026

Headline findings

Every figure below is calculated from the frozen research snapshot, not from the live council directory.

  1. Finding 1

    41 of the 45 councils analysed have some Crisis and Resilience Fund support live

    31 councils (69%) are recorded as fully open, and a further 10 (22%) as partially open, where some parts of the scheme are live and others are not.

  2. Finding 2

    Rollout is still incomplete for 14 of the 45 councils analysed

    10 partially open, 1 opening soon and 3 with information published but no clear resident-facing opening position. Schemes launching in stages across a financial year is a normal delivery pattern, not a failure.

  3. Finding 3

    Emergency cash, money advice and housing costs are the most commonly published strands

    emergency cash (35 of 45), money advice (34 of 45), housing costs (33 of 45), energy (26 of 45) and food (25 of 45). Counts reflect what each council explicitly publishes in the verified SupportFund record.

  4. Finding 4

    Housing support is a major strand of the fund

    33 of the 45 councils analysed explicitly publish help with housing costs, often as a separately administered Housing Payment with its own eligibility rules.

  5. Finding 5

    Councils are using very different access routes

    Among the 31 councils with a verified application method, 29 publish an online application, alongside telephone routes, referral routes, council-contact routes and, in one case, an automatic award.

  6. Finding 6

    Some councils explicitly allow low-income residents to apply even if they are not receiving benefits

    Liverpool City Council, Wigan Council, Wirral Council each state this rule explicitly for crisis support. Other councils may allow the same thing without publishing it in the information SupportFund checked, so no percentage is calculated.

  7. Finding 7

    Two-tier areas create more complex access routes for residents

    9 of the councils analysed are upper-tier authorities whose records describe delivery involving district or borough councils or partner organisations, so the route a resident uses depends on where in the county they live.

How far the rollout has got

Scheme status is recorded from each council's own published information. Schemes launching in stages across a financial year is a normal delivery pattern.

Crisis and Resilience Fund scheme status across 45 analysed councils

England (45 analysed councils) · As of 12 August 2026 · Source: SupportFund analysis of official council information

Number of analysed councilsOpenOpen: 31 councils (69%)31 councils (69%)Partially openPartially open: 10 councils (22%)10 councils (22%)Opening soonOpening soon: 1 councils (2%)1 councils (2%)Information publishedInformation published: 3 councils (7%)3 councils (7%)Chart: SupportFund. Source data: SupportFund analysis of official council information. England (45 analysed councils), As of 12 August 2026.

This analysis is based on 45 local authority schemes verified or partially verified by SupportFund as of 12 August 2026. It is not yet a complete census of all English councils.

Chart: SupportFund. Source data: SupportFund analysis of official council information. Last checked 12 August 2026. View original source

Open

The council's own information says its Crisis and Resilience Fund support is available to residents now.

Partially open

Some parts of the council's scheme are live while other parts are staged, paused or not yet launched, according to the council's own information.

Opening soon

The council has published a scheme that is not yet accepting applications.

Information published

The council has published Crisis and Resilience Fund information, but the resident-facing opening position was not stated clearly enough to record as open.

What the fund is actually being used for

Number of analysed councils where this support type is explicitly published in the verified SupportFund record.

Support types published by analysed Crisis and Resilience Fund councils

England (45 analysed councils) · As of 12 August 2026 · Source: SupportFund analysis of official council information

Number of analysed councilsEmergency cashEmergency cash: 35 of 4535 of 45Money adviceMoney advice: 34 of 4534 of 45Housing costsHousing costs: 33 of 4533 of 45EnergyEnergy: 26 of 4526 of 45FoodFood: 25 of 4525 of 45Debt adviceDebt advice: 18 of 4518 of 45Essential household goodsEssential household goods: 16 of 4516 of 45Other essential costsOther essential costs: 8 of 458 of 45Budgeting supportBudgeting support: 7 of 457 of 45Children's essentialsChildren's essentials: 7 of 457 of 45VouchersVouchers: 7 of 457 of 45Employment supportEmployment support: 6 of 456 of 45FurnitureFurniture: 6 of 456 of 45Heating oilHeating oil: 5 of 455 of 45RentRent: 5 of 455 of 45TravelTravel: 5 of 455 of 45ClothingClothing: 4 of 454 of 45Digital accessDigital access: 3 of 453 of 45Tenancy supportTenancy support: 3 of 453 of 45WaterWater: 3 of 453 of 45White goodsWhite goods: 1 of 451 of 45Chart: SupportFund. Source data: SupportFund analysis of official council information. England (45 analysed councils), As of 12 August 2026.

Councils publish more than one support type, so the bars do not add to 45. Where a field is blank, SupportFund has not verified that information. It does not mean the council does not provide that support.

Chart: SupportFund. Source data: SupportFund analysis of official council information. Last checked 12 August 2026. View original source

Where a field is blank, SupportFund has not verified that information. It does not mean the council does not provide that support.

How residents apply

Based on 31 councils with a verified application method. Councils are counted once for each method they publish, so the figures add to more than 31. A council with no recorded method has not been checked for one — it does not mean no application route exists.

How residents apply, where the application route is verified

England (analysed councils with a verified application route) · As of 12 August 2026 · Source: SupportFund analysis of official council information

Number of councils with a verified application routeOnline applicationOnline application: 29 of 3129 of 31TelephoneTelephone: 4 of 314 of 31Council contact requiredCouncil contact required: 3 of 313 of 31ReferralReferral: 2 of 312 of 31Automatic awardAutomatic award: 1 of 311 of 31In personIn person: 1 of 311 of 31Professional referralProfessional referral: 1 of 311 of 31Chart: SupportFund. Source data: SupportFund analysis of official council information. England (analysed councils with a verified application route), As of 12 August 2026.

Based on 31 councils with a verified application method. Councils are counted once for each method they publish, so the figures add to more than 31. A council with no recorded method has not been checked for one — it does not mean no application route exists.

Chart: SupportFund. Source data: SupportFund analysis of official council information. Last checked 12 August 2026. View original source

Eligibility rules councils state explicitly

Councils set their own eligibility rules within the national framework. SupportFund only records a rule where the council states it explicitly, so this is reported as verified examples rather than as a percentage.

  • Liverpool City Council

    Not required — Liverpool City Council states applicants do not need to be receiving benefits to apply.

  • Wigan Council

    Not required for crisis support. For Housing Payments only: Housing Benefit or Universal Credit with housing costs.

  • Wirral Council

    Not required for Crisis Payments. For Housing Payments only: Housing Benefit or Universal Credit with housing support.

9 of the 45 analysed councils had an explicit benefits rule recorded when the snapshot was taken. Councils without a recorded rule may still allow the same thing — the information simply was not verified, so no percentage is published.

Different delivery models, no ranking

The analysed councils are delivering the same national fund in visibly different ways. These are descriptions of published delivery models, not judgements about which council is better.

Liverpool City Council

Crisis Payments are open and the council states applicants do not need to be receiving benefits to apply.

Sunderland City Council

Recorded as partially open because Crisis Payments were temporarily closed while other Crisis and Resilience Fund support remained active.

Kent County Council

A staged rollout, with parts of the fund launching at different points in the year.

Essex County Council

A county-level scheme, with Southend administering Crisis Payments on Essex's behalf.

Lancashire County Council

A county framework delivered to residents through district councils.

Hampshire County Council

Immediate support operational while the longer-term model is still developing.

Sheffield City Council

The Crisis Payment explicitly excludes some costs, and Housing Payments are handled separately.

Norfolk County Council

A wide-ranging crisis and resilience service covering immediate hardship and longer-term support.

Oldham Council

Resident-facing Crisis Payments, Housing Payments and wider advice and support.

9 of the analysed councils are upper-tier authorities where districts, boroughs or partners deliver part of the offer, so the route a resident uses depends on where in the county they live.

Where the analysed councils are

The number of councils currently verified differs by region, so this chart should not be interpreted as a league table of regional performance.

Analysed councils by region

England (45 analysed councils) · As of 12 August 2026 · Source: SupportFund analysis of official council information

Number of analysed councilsNorth WestNorth West: 17 analysed, 15 open17 analysed, 15 openEast MidlandsEast Midlands: 6 analysed, 5 open6 analysed, 5 openNorth EastNorth East: 6 analysed, 2 open6 analysed, 2 openYorkshire and The HumberYorkshire and The Humber: 6 analysed, 3 open6 analysed, 3 openSouth EastSouth East: 5 analysed, 2 open5 analysed, 2 openEast of EnglandEast of England: 2 analysed, 2 open2 analysed, 2 openWest MidlandsWest Midlands: 2 analysed, 1 open2 analysed, 1 openSouth WestSouth West: 1 analysed, 1 open1 analysed, 1 openChart: SupportFund. Source data: SupportFund analysis of official council information. England (45 analysed councils), As of 12 August 2026.

The number of councils currently verified differs by region, so this chart should not be interpreted as a league table of regional performance.

Chart: SupportFund. Source data: SupportFund analysis of official council information. Last checked 12 August 2026. View original source

Analysed councils by region
RegionCouncils analysedRecorded as open
North West1715
East Midlands65
North East62
Yorkshire and The Humber63
South East52
East of England22
West Midlands21
South West11

How complete this picture is

Verification status of the analysed council records

England (45 analysed councils) · As of 12 August 2026 · Source: SupportFund analysis of official council information

Number of analysed councilsVerifiedVerified: 31 councils (69%)31 councils (69%)PartialPartial: 14 councils (31%)14 councils (31%)Chart: SupportFund. Source data: SupportFund analysis of official council information. England (45 analysed councils), As of 12 August 2026.

Partial means official council information exists, but some important delivery or application fields were incomplete or spread across several sources when SupportFund checked. It is a description of our record, not a judgement about the council.

Chart: SupportFund. Source data: SupportFund analysis of official council information. Last checked 12 August 2026. View original source

Partial means official council information exists, but some important delivery or application fields were incomplete or spread across several sources when SupportFund checked. It is a description of our record, not a judgement about the council.

This analysis is based on 45 local authority schemes verified or partially verified by SupportFund as of 12 August 2026. It is not yet a complete census of all English councils.

The councils in this analysis

The frozen 45-council registry the findings are calculated from, exactly as recorded on 12 August 2026.

Crisis and Resilience Fund council rollout research snapshot, 12 August 2026
CouncilRegionScheme statusVerificationOfficial source
Birmingham City CouncilWest MidlandsOpenVerifiedCouncil page
Kent County CouncilSouth EastPartially openPartialCouncil page
Liverpool City CouncilNorth WestOpenVerifiedCouncil page
Leeds City CouncilYorkshire and The HumberPartially openPartialCouncil page
Bradford CouncilYorkshire and The HumberOpening soonPartialCouncil page
Coventry City CouncilWest MidlandsPartially openVerifiedCouncil page
Essex County CouncilEast of EnglandOpenVerifiedCouncil page
Bristol City CouncilSouth WestOpenVerifiedCouncil page
Nottingham City CouncilEast MidlandsOpenVerifiedCouncil page
Oldham CouncilNorth WestOpenVerifiedCouncil page
Manchester City CouncilNorth WestOpenVerifiedCouncil page
Sheffield City CouncilYorkshire and The HumberOpenVerifiedCouncil page
Gateshead CouncilNorth EastOpenPartialCouncil page
Lancashire County CouncilNorth WestOpenVerifiedCouncil page
Norfolk County CouncilEast of EnglandOpenVerifiedCouncil page
Hampshire County CouncilSouth EastPartially openVerifiedCouncil page
Leicester City CouncilEast MidlandsOpenVerifiedCouncil page
Portsmouth City CouncilSouth EastOpenVerifiedCouncil page
Southampton City CouncilSouth EastPartially openPartialCouncil page
Brighton & Hove City CouncilSouth EastOpenPartialCouncil page
Newcastle upon Tyne City CouncilNorth EastOpenVerifiedCouncil page
Sunderland City CouncilNorth EastPartially openVerifiedCouncil page
North Tyneside CouncilNorth EastPartially openPartialCouncil page
South Tyneside CouncilNorth EastPartially openPartialCouncil page
Durham County CouncilNorth EastInformation publishedPartialCouncil page
Salford City CouncilNorth WestOpenVerifiedCouncil page
Bolton CouncilNorth WestOpenPartialCouncil page
Bury CouncilNorth WestOpenVerifiedCouncil page
Rochdale Borough CouncilNorth WestOpenVerifiedCouncil page
Stockport Metropolitan Borough CouncilNorth WestOpenVerifiedCouncil page
Tameside Metropolitan Borough CouncilNorth WestOpenVerifiedCouncil page
Trafford CouncilNorth WestInformation publishedPartialCouncil page
Wigan CouncilNorth WestOpenVerifiedCouncil page
Wirral CouncilNorth WestOpenVerifiedCouncil page
Sefton CouncilNorth WestOpenVerifiedCouncil page
Knowsley CouncilNorth WestPartially openPartialCouncil page
Cheshire East CouncilNorth WestOpenVerifiedCouncil page
Cheshire West and Chester CouncilNorth WestOpenVerifiedCouncil page
Derby City CouncilEast MidlandsOpenVerifiedCouncil page
Derbyshire County CouncilEast MidlandsOpenVerifiedCouncil page
Lincolnshire County CouncilEast MidlandsOpenVerifiedCouncil page
City of York CouncilYorkshire and The HumberOpenVerifiedCouncil page
Wakefield CouncilYorkshire and The HumberOpenVerifiedCouncil page
Hull City CouncilYorkshire and The HumberPartially openPartialCouncil page
Nottinghamshire County CouncilEast MidlandsInformation publishedPartialCouncil page

Methodology

Sample

  • 45 English local authorities with Crisis and Resilience Fund local scheme records verified or partially verified by SupportFund as of 12 August 2026.
  • This analysis is based on 45 local authority schemes verified or partially verified by SupportFund as of 12 August 2026. It is not yet a complete census of all English councils.

Sources

  • Official local authority information published on council websites, and official UK Government Crisis and Resilience Fund allocation data published by the Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government.
  • SupportFund did not create the council schemes or the government allocation data. This report is SupportFund analysis of official council information.

Verification

  • For each authority SupportFund records the official source, the published scheme status, the support types published, the application information published, eligibility rules where the council states them explicitly, a verification status and the date the record was last verified.
  • Nothing is inferred from an allocation amount, and nothing is generated from a council's likely behaviour.

Missing data

  • Where a field is blank, SupportFund has not verified that information. It does not mean the council does not provide that support.
  • 1 of the 45 records held no explicit support-type list when the snapshot was taken.

Status definitions

  • Open: The council's own information says its Crisis and Resilience Fund support is available to residents now.
  • Partially open: Some parts of the council's scheme are live while other parts are staged, paused or not yet launched, according to the council's own information.
  • Opening soon: The council has published a scheme that is not yet accepting applications.
  • Information published: The council has published Crisis and Resilience Fund information, but the resident-facing opening position was not stated clearly enough to record as open.

Limitations

  • 45 councils are not all English local authorities.
  • Local schemes can change during the financial year.
  • Some councils deliver through multiple partners.
  • Lower-tier and upper-tier authority responsibilities differ, so records are not always like-for-like.
  • 14 of the records are Partial.
  • Council websites may change after the verification date.

Verification date

  • 12 August 2026

Cite this research

Cite this data

SupportFund, Crisis and Resilience Fund 2026: How councils are rolling out England's new household safety net, accessed 6 September 2026. https://supportfund.co.uk/media/research/crisis-resilience-fund-council-rollout-2026

Based on SupportFund analysis of official local authority information and UK Government Crisis and Resilience Fund allocation data.